Three Cheers for Our Graduate Students!

Author: Medieval Institute

The university may be closed for on-campus activities at present, but our graduate students are working hard and still making terrific progress towards their degrees. We would like to congratulate all of our Ph.D. students who have met significant milestones on their journeys.

Carlos Diego Arenas Pacheco, Spencer T. B. Hunt, and Kelsi Ray have all entered Ph.D. candidacy after passing their exams and defending their dissertation proposals. 

Will Beattie and Eileen W. M. Morgan have been awarded the Medieval Institute's Gabriel and Duffy Fellowships respectively, granting each of them an additional year of coursework to build essential, interdisciplinary skills. 

Spencer T. B. Hunt and Eileen W. M. Morgan have both been awarded CARA summer scholarships from the Medieval Academy of America. Spencer was accepted to a summer program entitled "Arabic Codicology: The Islamic Manuscript Heritage in the El Escorial Collection." The program is an annual week-long intensive course in Arabic codicology and paleography hosted at the Royal Library of the Monastery of San Lorenzo de El Escorial. The program has been postponed from its original June schedule, but the organizers hope to still hold the event later this year (COVID permitting). Spencer was also chosen to be one of the Nanovic Institute's eight graduate fellows for the 2020–21 academic year. Eileen was accepted to the Qasid Arabic Institute for her summer study. She was also the recipient of a graduate student travel award for the 2020 Medieval Academy annual conference, based on a paper she submitted.

Jeffrey Berland has been awarded a DAAD grant.

Jacob Coen has received the Paul G. Tobin Dissertation Fellowship from the Nanovic Institute for European Studies to support the completion of his dissertation, "Tyrannus Rex:  Tyranny, History, and Carolingian Propaganda,” during the 2020–21 academic year. 

This year has also seen a large number of students defend their dissertations, completing their time in our graduate program. We wish them well as they enter the next stages of their professional and academic careers. This year's graduates are Anna de BakkerDaniel Contreras RíosMaj-Britt FrenzeNicolas KamasRebecca West, and Benjamin Wright. 

Three cheers for all!


Have we missed anything? Email us at