MAA 2024 Announcement

The 99th Annual Meeting of the Medieval Academy of America

University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana
March 14–16, 2024

The 99th Annual Meeting of the Medieval Academy of America will take place in South Bend, Indiana, on the campus of the University of Notre Dame. The meeting is hosted by Notre Dame’s Medieval Institute, St. Mary's College, Holy Cross College, and Indiana University, South Bend. The conference will be entirely in person, though the plenary lectures and some other events will also be live-streamed.

The themes for this year’s meeting are “Mapping the Middle Ages,” “Bodies in Motion,” and “Communities of Knowledge.” Plenary addresses will be delivered by Robin Fleming (Boston College), Bissera Pentcheva (Stanford), and Jack Tannous (Princeton).

Sixty concurrent sessions will represent a range of threads, including “Digitally Mapping the Middle Ages,” “Sacred Interiors,” “Islamic Epistemology,” “Mapping Real and Imaginary Travel,” “Mobile Bodies,” and “Border Crossings,” and cover topics addressing material culture, literary studies, cosmology, architecture, liturgy, and pandemics, to name a few. Roundtables and workshops will highlight union organizing in higher education, writing for a public audience, and publishing on the Middle Ages.

Notre Dame’s Medieval Institute has one of the preeminent library collections for medieval studies in North America. You are welcome to visit the Medieval Institute during your stay on campus. You can find it on the 7th floor of the University’s Theodore M. Hesburgh Library.

Beyond the conference and its sessions, other attractions are available to you before and during the meeting. On Wednesday, March 13, workshops on digital medieval studies and fragmentology will be offered. Notre Dame Library’s Special Collections will showcase an exhibit entitled "Mapping the Middle Ages: Marking Time, Space, and Knowledge," while the campus Digital Visualization Theater will host a 360-degree visual and aural presentation on the cosmology of Hildegard of Bingen. Visit the newly-opened Raclin Murphy Museum of Art and while there enjoy a special exhibit of early woodcuts and engravings, including Albrecht Dürer’s famous Apocalypse series. The Morris Inn will host an Irish Céilí dance on Saturday evening.

Conference Location

Notre Dame is located about two hours' drive from Chicago, with commuter train service available. Scholars may wish to extend their visit and take advantage of the opportunity for research or sightseeing.


Registration will open in early January. Online registration closes February 16, 2024. No refunds will be granted after that date. On-site registrants (other than students) will be charged an additional fee of $50.


MAA Member


Retired MAA Member


Non-MAA Member


Student MAA Member


Student Non-Member


Unaffiliated/Independent Scholar MAA Member


Unaffiliated/Independent Scholar Non-Member


K–12 Educator


Undergraduate Student

No fee



Exhibits and Advertising

Publishers and other organizations looking to advertise in the program, registration packets, and/or display books at the Annual Meeting of the Medieval Academy of America should submit an application form, which will be released shortly.  

Hotel Information

Rooms have been reserved at the Morris Inn, the Fairfield Inn & Suites, and Courtyard by Marriott. Reservations can be made until February 13, 2024, depending upon availability.


Room Rate

Deadline to Reserve

How to Reserve

Morris Inn

$149 + taxes and fees



Fairfield Inn & Suites

$179–$189 + taxes and fees



Embassy Suites

$179–$189 + taxes and fees



Getting Around & Directions

A campus map is available here.

Transpo offers city bus service to Notre Dame and other destinations throughout the South Bend area. Route 7 will stop at the Hesburgh Library. Please allow extra time to walk to your destination.

Uber, Lyft, and taxis are all available as well.

A golf cart will be available on campus to shuttle guests who need assistance. Please ask a volunteer or flag the cart down (it will be marked with an MAA sign).

Professional Behavior

All participants in the Medieval Academy of America Annual Meeting are expected to read and adhere to our Professional Behavior Policy.

ADA Accommodations & Accessibility

The 2024 meeting is committed to ensuring equal access to all conference events and activities, in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), as amended, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as well as other applicable state and local laws. Any participants requiring accommodations or concerned about accessibility are encouraged to contact the organizers at

Travel Bursaries and Awards

Please note the upcoming deadlines for travel bursaries and awards in conjunction with the Annual Meeting:

Student Bursaries

Graduate students who are members of the Medieval Academy of America and who have had their papers accepted for presentation at the 2024 meeting are eligible to apply for a Medieval Academy Annual Meeting Bursary of up to $500. The bursaries will be awarded to graduate students for papers judged meritorious by the local Program Committee, and one applicant will be awarded the prize for Best Student Paper. The application includes a biographical form and the completed paper. The deadline for applications is December 31, 2023. Apply online.

Inclusivity and Diversity Travel Grant

The Academy will present the annual Inclusivity and Diversity Travel Grant of $500 to one Annual Meeting participant presenting an accepted proposal on the study of inclusivity and diversity in the Middle Ages, broadly conceived. This Grant will be adjudicated by the Academy's Inclusivity and Diversity Committee, and preference will be given to student, junior, adjunct, or unaffiliated scholars. The deadline for applications is December 31, 2023. Apply online.

Program Committee Members

Thomas E. Burman, co-chair, University of Notre Dame
CJ Jones, co-chair, University of Notre Dame
Margaret Meserve, co-chair, University of Notre Dame
Hussein Abdulsater, University of Notre Dame
Christopher Abram, University of Notre Dame
Alexander Beihammer, University of Notre Dame
Jessalynn Bird, St. Mary’s College
Jeremy Brown, University of Notre Dame
Theodore Cachey, University of Notre Dame
Eleonora Celora, University of Notre Dame
Robin Fleming, Boston College
Nina Glibetic, University of Notre Dame
Robert Goulding, University of Notre Dame
David Gura, University of Notre Dame
Megan J. Hall, University of Notre Dame
Marius Hauknes, University of Notre Dame
Julio Hernando, Indiana University, South Bend
Alexander Hsu, University of Notre Dame
Peter Jeffery, University of Notre Dame
Robin Jensen, University of Notre Dame
Sarah Noonan, St. Mary’s College
Stephen Ogden, University of Notre Dame
Henry Stephan, O.P., University of Notre Dame
Wiebke Marie Stock, University of Notre Dame
Alexis Torrance, University of Notre Dame
Julia Verkholantzev, University of Pennsylvania