Director and Staff

Current Hours of Operation

Starting October 5, 2020, the office will be open for in-person visits as follows:

  • Monday–Wednesday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (remotely available Thursday and Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.)

Medieval Institute

Thomas Burman

Thomas E. Burman
Robert M. Conway Director of the Medieval Institute
Professor of History
(574) 631-6603
tburman@nd.edu
Twitter @bobqur

ON LEAVE FALL 2020

 

 

Tim Machan

Tim Machan
Robert M. Conway Acting Director of the Medieval Institute
Professor of English
(574) 631-6603
tmachan@nd.edu
 

 

 

 

Megan J. Hall

Megan J. Hall, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
(574) 631-8304
mhall9@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

CJ Jones Photo

CJ (Claire Taylor) Jones
Director of Graduate Studies
William Payden Associate Professor of German
(574) 631-3795
Claire.T.Jones.406@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

Christopher Miller 2020

Christopher Liebtag Miller
Assistant Teaching Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies and Engagement
(574) 631-6081
cmille34@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

Thomson Guster

Thomson Guster
Administrative Coordinator
(574) 631-6603
tguster@nd.edu
 

 

 

 

 

The Medieval Studies Research Blog: Meet us at the Crossroads of Everything

The Medieval Studies Research Blog is a multi-author blog site sponsored by the Medieval Institute. The blog is maintained and promoted by a blog manager and regular contributors who are current or former Notre Dame graduate students working in some area of medieval studies. Guest posts come from current and former members, as well as friends, of Notre Dame’s vibrant international medievalist community.

 

Richard Fahey Headshot 2019

Richard Fahey, Ph.D. (English)
Blog Manager + Contributor
rfahey@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

Cait Stevenson

Cait Stevenson, Ph.D. (Medieval Institute)
Contributor
Caitlin.Stevenson.30@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

Emily McLemore

Emily McLemore, Ph.D. Candidate (English)
Contributor
emclemor@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

Hus Simsir

Hüsamettin Şimşir, Ph.D. Candidate (History)
Contributor
hsimsir@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

Library

Julia Schneider

Julia Schneider, Ph.D.
Medieval Studies Librarian
(574) 631-5724
Julia.Schneider.31@nd.edu

 

 

 

 

David Gura

David T. Gura, Ph.D.
Curator, European Manuscripts, Early Imprints, and the History of the Book; Classical and Byzantine Studies Librarian
(574) 631-6489
dgura@nd.edu